touch tables…

ha ha wanting now to get my desktop clear of open web pages… here are some hacks for touch tables… I’m looking at touch tables for IR camera relevance… but I’ve just had the thought that my game concept could easily be used with a touch table interface? it could definitely coul cross over with the same objective to promote interparticipatory ludic experience… I think!

the above diagram comes from here and uses a regular webcam…

the above – on vimeo here – is from here and uses the FTIR screen. An FTIR (short for Frustrated Total Internal Reflection) setup involves three vital components: a sheet of transparent acrylic, a chain of infrared LEDs, and a camera with an IR filter. The LEDs are arranged around the outside of the sheet of acrylic so that they shine directly into the thin side surfaces. Once the IR light is inside the acrylic, it strikes the top and bottom surfaces of the acrylic at a near-parallel angle, and is subject to the effect known as total internal reflection.

this looks like SO much fun to make that I almost want to change my project just to make it!

another table following the smame design here

About missmelaniesixty

I rock.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment